Zac Reid makes history with threepeat in the Flannagan Cup

Star Taranaki swimmer Zac Reid has won the Flannagan Cup ocean swim race for the third year in a row. Since the competition began in 1916 just two people have won three times, chairman of the organising committee Neale Parkinson said. “But never three on the trot.” […]

Read More…

flannagan ocean swim cup

Iconic Flannagan Cup set to be shelved

One of the country’s oldest swimming events is in jeopardy of being cancelled because there’s no one around to run it. After a “mass start” for the centenary event of New Plymouth’s Flannagan Cup in 2016, a “mass exodus” of the cup’s committee members occurred. Sonia O’Connell of Swimming Taranaki, along with other volunteers, stepped […]

Read More…

flannagan cup np

2013 Girl power rules

For the second year in a row but just the third time in 97 years, a woman has won the Flannagan Cup open water swim. New Plymouth’s Alice Doig followed the lead of last year’s winner Dee Nagle when taking line honours in the gruelling 3.6km handicap swim. Swimming Taranaki operations manager and event co-ordinator […]

Read More…